Statens Museum for Kunst addition 
Sølvgade 48-50 

Anna Maria Indrio 1998

The Statens Museum for Kunst, the Danish national gallery, houses a large collection of Danish and international paintings, sculptures, drawings and installations, including works by the Italian renaissance painters like Titian, the 17th century European masters like Rubens and Rembrandt, and 20th century artists such as Henri Matisse and Edward Munch, as well as Danish artists. The museum's increasing demands for space in its brick neoclassical home led it to roof over two internal courtyards and then to commission this addition at the rear of the building.


The addition is transparent along the cardinal axes, which allows for panoramic views across the atrium and vertical windows on the upper floor galleries. Besides providing ample natural light into the space, these windows orient the visitor to the park that surrounds the museum on three sides.

Indrio's design for the addition is a sleekly modern box of plaster, white marble, glass, and steel. Galleries in the addition are connected to galleries in the original museum via slender cable bridges across an airy atrium, or 'sculpture street.' From the atrium, the ornate brick facade of the older building is displayed as a work of art in its own right.


Jess Wendover 2003

How to visit

The Statens Museum for Kunst is located to the north of the city's Botanical Gardens at 48-50 Sølvgade. The nearest S-train stop is at Nørreport station.

The museum is open Tuesday-Sunday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and until 
8 p.m. on Wednesdays. Admission charge is 50 kroner (half price if you're under 25 or retired), but free on Wednesdays. For more information try the museum's web site at

All links outside galinsky will open in a new window. Close it when you've finished, or use the Window menu on your browser, to return to galinsky.



   Welcome    |    About galinsky    |    Contact/contribute    |    Architects    |    Europe    |    North America    |    Travel packs

   copyright © galinsky 1998-2006. e-mail